Around the world, solar energy is becoming a more popular source of energy for many households. Why do you think this is so? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy to power one’s home?

The topic of energy source always brings heated debate between people. There are many source of energy, but recently solar energy is gaining popularity as source of energy for many household around the globe. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy.

First and foremost advantage of solar energy is that it is environment friendly. Use of solar energy does not have a negative impact on the environment like other source of energy such as coal, petroleum. For instance, excessive use of coal as an energy source result in air pollution since, it emits carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases. Secondly, using sun as source is an intelligent idea because it will not exhaust in near future like coal and petroleum.

On the other hand, using solar energy has disadvantages as well. There are many places on earth where for many days and sometime for many months sun does not rise, so using solar energy in those places as their prime source of energy is not a good idea. The example would be Alaska where sun does not shine for 67 days in winter. Adding to it, installing solar energy equipment can be costly due to which poor people are unable to afford it. For example, in Nepal installing solar energy gear is so expensive that government has to provide subsidies to make them affordable for normal people.

To sum up, solar energy has both the advantages and disadvantages but when analyse further keeping in mind the global contemporary issue then the advantages of solar energy outweighs disadvantages of solar energy.