Around the world, solar energy is becoming a more popular source of energy for many households. Why do you think this is so? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy to power one’s home?

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on advantages and disadvantages of using solar energy. While, some people argue that disadvantages overweigh the advantages of using solar power. On my point of view, solar power is one of an eco friendly power source which can be used by households. In this essay, I shall discuss present factors strengthening my argument.

First and foremost, solar power is cost effective, though it consumes a considerable initial cost. Solar power is an enviromental friendly mode of power generation because it does not emmit gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxides. Therefore, governments can encourage people to install solar panels at their households. For instance, they can provide loans for the household at the same time, they can invest on Solar Power Units around the country and add them to the national grid.

On the other hand, anyone can't ensure constant supply of solar power due to the varying weather conditions. Consequently, governments cannot rely only on solar power generation. Besides that, countries located in Southern pole and Nothern pole do not have the opportunity of generating solar power during the whole year due to seasonal variations.

In conclusion, it is recommended governments to introduce other sustainable energy sources like sea waves and wind power than only relying on coal power/hydro electricity or solar power. It is also beleived, that the importance of sustainable energy sources should be promoted in schools because alternative power generation is one of a sustaunable development goal under UNDP'S 2030 programme.