The benefits and drawbacks of learning old theater literacy has always been a groundswell debate for high school education. Some people believe that these art forms are beneficial for preserving their traditional culture. Others doubt that learning these plays from long time ago would be inconsistent with modern narratives of arts, thus, being time-wasting for the students. The following essay would further elaborate both sides in detail with examples.

To begin with, the prime benefit of studying old narratives of art forms such as dramas and novels help the students be aware of unique traditions, customs, rituals, and lifestyle of people of bygone centuries. For example, there are tragedy from the great playwright Shakespeare, propelling the students back to the 16th century, to learn the contradiction of psychology and actions between people from different level of the society. This is not only helpful for the students to build a habit of critical thinking, but also prevent the past mistakes from reappearing by the students. Thus, the valuable, precious human heritage could be preserved while those outdated beliefs, customs or rituals which do more harm than good would be avoided.

On the flip side, the old narratives of art forms such as dramas and plays of the theater is contrast with the requirements of modern society. Students in high schools who are confronted with the future competition in either academic study or professional fields. For example, the modern job market requires a lot in operating modern technologies, teamwork and leadership. Youngsters paying too much attention towards those romantic or tragic forms of literature will be considered as detachment of the modern society, and thus, impede them from integrating into the work force.

To conclude, it is drawn that studying literature in school and college days is beneficial for personal growth, simultaneously, the bad impact of these literary pieces cannot be ignored. A balanced pedagogical approach is needed to adapt to take the benefits of classical writings.