In a cashless society, people use credit cards more often. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

In the last few decades, the financial industry has grown enormously and meets the need of many individual consumers and businesses. Among their variety of products and services, the most prominent offering is a credit card system with the intention to replace the use of traditional cash bills. This essay will discuss, advantages and drawbacks of the given topic and lead to a plausible conclusion.

Firstly, there are myriad reasons which proponents cite for the benefits of using credit cards. One of the most preponderant reasons is the credit cards are marketed with plenty of offers including cash back bonus and discounts. For instance, there are offers that can make one purchase products almost half the price of the original value using credit cards, which cannot be made with traditional cash bills. In addition, one need not have to carry the currency to make purchases. Hence, credit cards have made life simple for many.

However, there are some dire consequences if the credit cards are not used properly, which are growing to become agonizingly painful. To illustrate, if someone missed making the monthly bill payments on-time or due to credit card frauds, may lead him to pay almost twice the monthly bill amount. Moreover, people must be more careful or make necessary precautions such as installing anti-virus or firewall if the credit cards are used online for purchases. Hence, although, credit cards make the shopping simple, for some cases, they can make one pay more than what he can afford.

In conclusion, credit cards are the new phenomenon and a product of financial services which have revolutionized shopping world if they are properly utilized. In my opinion, credit cards should be used with at-most care otherwise one may end up paying more than what they could afford.