Should governments build more roads to allow more vehicles, or should they improve the network of public transports? Give your opinion.

These days, every city is witnessing a rise in population and eventually, it creates more burden on traffic control. There are two important measures that any government can take to reduce the traffic congestion, build more roads to allow more vehicles or improve the network of public transports. This has raised a debate among many and this essay will explain, the advantages and disadvantages of the given topic and lead to a plausible conclusion.

First and foremost, there are myriad reasons which proponents cite for improving the network of public transports instead of building new roads. One of the most preponderant reasons is the effect of pollution by adding more number of vehicles in the city. Pollution is a growing problem, which has a huge impact on our climate change and the health of the people. Public transports can mitigate the effect of pollution to a greater extent and encourage more people to use buses and metro trains. Therefore, it is evident that the increasing number of public transports can bring the city eco-friendly.

On the other side, there are several implications for people depending on public transports. For example, people cannot reach office or schools on-time due to delay in public transports. In addition, the traffic-related issues may not be reduced just by upgrading public networks, it requires new roads to be built to improve the connectivity.

To conclude, as mitigation for growing traffic related issues, the government can either improve the public network or lay more roads. In my opinion, the government should have control on the use of own vehicles and encourage people to use public transports, while laying new roads to improve connectivity.