Should governments build ore roads to allow more vehicles, or should they improve the network of public transports? Give your opinion.

The effect of building more roads to solve traffic congestion has always been a debatable issue. Some people say that it will be beneficial for the society as a whole if governments build more roads whereas some are in the support of improving the public transportation. However, I am inclined towards the fact that building a strong network of public provisions will be fruitful.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why building roads is not a wise step but most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it will result in deforestation. Consequently, more roads will mean more traffic which will eventually lead to accumulation of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere emitted through vehicles. As an illustration, people more likely will use their cars and bikes due to extra catering of roads eventually resulting in extreme congestion. Hence, building roads is feasible but not effective, and investment will go in vain.

However, approach of improving public transportation will for surely decline the problem of traffic congestion and other environmental problems. Government, firstly, should make the prices of public facilities affordable for people so that diverse masses are in the favor of using them. Undoubtedly, it will not only decrease the air pollution but will also make the roads less congested and convenient for pedestrians as well. Therefore, the enhancement of public transport with regards to quality with cheaper rates will be a commendable initiative.

Succinctly, it can be said that efficiency of creating a better transport network is prominent, although slight benefits of having more roads should not be overlooked.