Is studying films at schools as important as studying literature? Give your opinion sharing your personal experience.

These days, movies are an integral part of everyone’s life and inspire many to become aspiring film-makers. Some proponents advocate movies to be studied as literature in schools, as they have enough potential to teach culture, custom, and histories, and others argue against studying movies in schools, and therefore it arouses a debate among many. This essay will discuss, the advantages and the drawbacks of the given topic and lead to a plausible conclusion.

First and foremost, there are myriad reasons which proponents cite for studying movies in schools in the form of literature. One of the most preponderant reasons is beyond entertainment, they are just a medium to make one aware of sensitive issues around us. For instance, movies such as Hurt Locker introduce the whole world about the suffering, pain, and brutality present in the war zone. In addition, movies such as A Passage to India, 12 Years a Slave, have the potential to understand racism, hostility during Western colonization era. Therefore, it is evident that movies can be treated as literature and included along with other literary subjects in the school curriculum.

On the other side, the educational part of the movie will only be a small portion of the overall and does not require the whole movie be shown for educational benefits. In addition, movies may not show histories accurately to make up for a good drama and may lead students to believe whatever shown in the movie is correct. In such cases, a small part of movies can be shown to add value to the existing lessons.

To recapitulate, besides there are downsides, some films do have literary value and offers insight on culture and lives of ancient people. Hence, in my opinion, those movies with good literature sense can be included in school syllabus alongside other literary works.