Governments should reduce the investments in arts, music and painting, and instead, focus solely on the economic development of the country. Do you agree or disagree?

The arts in the form of music and painting carry the cultural identity of the nation to the future generation. Governments’ investment in fine arts, instead of focusing on economic development, has become a growing concern and rises debate among many. This essay will explain, the advantages and disadvantages of the given topic and lead to a plausible conclusion.

First and foremost, there are myriad reasons which proponents cite for the investment in fine arts. One of the most preponderant reasons is such various forms of art promote the economic growth of a nation through tourism and requires support and investment from the government. For instance, many from western countries travel to India to learn and understand the folk dances, Bharatanatyam and Carnatic music. Hence, unlike the most popular notion of investing in arts will not benefit the economic growth, indeed through cultural tourism, the nation’s economy will be improved.

Moreover, it is primarily important for the governing body to preserve the nation’s cultural identity in all forms. Through supporting art museums and conducting cultural events, not only promote economic activity, but also unearth unparalleled talents to the world. Appreciating such rare talents can keep these fine arts alive for generations.

In conclusion, there are multiple ways government can promote economic growth by supporting music and paintings, and through which the nation’s identity is preserved for generations. In my opinion, the government should support these arts, which not only portray the nation’s identity but also promote economic growth.