In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

The ubiquity of credit cards has resulted in a cash free society. Some people think that the common use of credit cards is beneficial for a society while others maintain that excessive use of credit cards has rendered the society as cashless. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages on the use of credit cards.

Firstly, credit cards have eased out the burden of carrying heavy cash in pockets. Moreover, use of credit cards keep an individual safe from various mishaps in which he is likely to lose all his cash. As an example, a credit card holder encountering robbery will only lose his credit card and save the loss of hard cash which is one of the biggest advantages of credit cards. As a matter of fact, credit cards have not only augmented to the cashless environment but also proved to be securer means in case of mishaps.

On the other hand, credit cards also have some negative aspects. Above all, most banks have a credit limit and a person cannot exceed that limit. Therefore, the buying power of an individual is restricted and at times he is unable to buy products of interest. For instance, in Pakistan most banks offer credit cards with an upper limit of 0.1 million rupees which highly effects the buying power of customers. As a result, in such scenarios hard cash is only the solution and thus increases the risks of robbery too.

In conclusion, although there are both pros and cons of cons for the use of credit cards, however, owing to the security and ease of carrying of credit cards provide its advantages over weigh its disadvantages.