It is as important for school children to study music, art and sport as it is for them to become literate and numerate.' How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experience.

Co-curricular activities are equally important for children as are academic studies. Some people think that children must be encouraged to partiipate in co-curricular activities like arts, music and sports, while others maintain that academic studies are more important than participation in other activities. This essay will discuss the importance of co-curricular activites for students.

Firstly, there are myriad of arguments in favour of participation in arts, music and sports. To begin with, a healthy mind and a physical fit child can only excel and grow in his life. Therefore, participation in sports boosts the physical health condition of a student and inculcates various traits of sportsmanship that cannot be taught through academic courses. Moreover, participation in arts and music allows students to explore their hidden talents and ease out their academic tensions. Hence, the importance of participation in co-curricular activities cannot be overruled.

Furthermore, the exposure provided to the students by arts and music allows them to have a better insight and understanding of the world. Additionally, numerous personality shades cannot be exposed and polished by theoratical studies and thus participation in sports activities allows a student to further polish those skills. As an example, a sportsman will have more strong nerves than a student who is performing extremely marvellous in academic arena only. So, it is unquestionable that only academic and literary studies can produce well groomed and educated citizens.

In conclusion, participation in activites like arts, music and sports is extremely important as it allows a student to explore the world and overcome the shortcomings in his peronality. However, I opine that these ventures polish and inculcate various traits in a student which cannot be shaped by academic studies.