'It is as important for school children to study music, art and sport as it is for them to become literate and numerate.' How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experience.

The importance of music, art and sport, which was always debatable have now become more controversial. The substantial influence of music, art and sport have sparked the controversy over the potential impact on the children in the recent year. In my opinion, music, art and sport are important for school children as it is for them to become literate and numerate, while others may disagree with this opinion of mine. This essay will elaborate my opinion in greater details and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why music, art and sport are important for school children, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that each subject have their own way to develop a child. For instance, music and art can help to develop a child's communicating and interactive skills whereas sport can improve the physical development. Furthermore, at the initial stage, it be very difficult for children to find their area of interest. So, if they are introduce to this subject they can understand their interest and strength better. Hence, music, art and sport are as important as other subjects.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that, in this modern and competitive world, it can very handy to have skills on music, art and sport. It gives an edge over other person. Furthermore, no one knows which skill might come in hand in the future. Besides, having these skill on music, art and sport helps to develop an individual's personality, which in turn, makes the person more socially involved. Thus studying music, art and sport can be very helpful for school children.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that studying music, art and sport are important for school children.