Every country has their own set of laws, rules and regulations. Some people decides to follow these laws, while others just ignore those. There is an ongoing debate between different categories of people, where one group believes that law can have huge impact on the human behavior, while the other the group does not agree with that statement. This essay will discuss at both the sides in greater details.

Law can change human behavior as it instills fear among the citizens by way of fines and penalties. For instance, issuing speeding and red-light fines help maintain decorum on the streets. This fear of fine helps keeps the human desire under check which, in turn, improves the safety of others on the street. As the time progressed, people got comfortable with this and they changed their behavior accordingly to adjust to this law. Hence, law can indeed change human behavior.

On the other side, law cannot change human behavior as certain characteristic in human nature are unchangeable and they create hinderance towards obeying some rigorous rules. Some people will just keep on repeating the same thing or behave violently no matter what the law suggests. Even issuing penalties against those individuals will have no effect on their behavior. As a result, there are some instances, even when a law cannot any effect on human behavior.

Law helps to keep the violent nature of human beings under control, which, in turn, makes the society peaceful and livable. Everyone should try their best to follow the laws, for their own safety and for the others.