Some people prefer to spend their holidays in resorts where everything is organized for them and they take little interest in the country they are visiting. Others prefer to travel around the country and to see how the people live, to get to know their customs and traditions and cuisine. Write an essay on which type of foreign travel you think is best for the tourist and local community.

Tourism, a medium to bridge communicational gaps among countries, not only provides as a medium to exchange culture but also accounts for one of the major sources of income for many countries. I personally feel that if tourists travel around the country and see how people live and have experiences of new customs and cuisines, it would be highly beneficial for the tourist as well as the local community.

This issue can be looked at from two point of views. From the point of view of the tourist, in the large pre-managed resort travel they may or may not get authentic local experience. There could be cultural shows that would be organized to provide information about the local community but like they say, a copy is never as good as the original. Moreover, it would also be cheaper for the tourist to organize the trip themselves. It could take a little more effort but would surely be worth the while in most of the cases.

On the other hand, looking at it from the local community’s point of view, it would be highly beneficial for them if the tourist came to their places and spent their time in the community itself. Local cuisine would be advertised along with local culture being spread around the world. The tourist would also get to know the history of the place from the authentic local people. Also, the local people would also be aware of different cultures in other parts of the world, making them more aware of the diverse cultures across the globe.

To sum it up, if the tourist goes to the local community to enjoy their time rather than the pre managed resorts while travelling, it would be beneficial economically, socially and culturally for both, the tourist and the local community.