Cities are now expanding; the government should make a better network for public transport or should build more roads to facilitate car ownership? Agree or Disagree?

Nowadays, traveling by public transport has attracted numerous debates and drawn consideration from the public. There are a great number of people who interpret the impact of the public transport system as thoroughly constructive and decisive, while others hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that transport development is beneficial and it could develop profound characteristics in people.

Firstly, it has been argued that there are several reasons why a transport network is advantageous. Although potentially positive impacts of transport strategies, as well as road construction projects, must be taken into account, public safety consequently opens avenues to new achievement. According to a well-known American institute, traffic congestion will increase people determination towards social responsibilities. Therefore, their enthusiasm and self-confidence will be amplified, which lead them to do using public transportation and less-fuel emission in an operative way.

On the other hand, another factor that should be considered is road facilities which might increase the consequences of road accidents. As far as society is concerned, the ultimate aim of road improvements and transport infrastructure is to decrease the detrimental impacts of deadly accidents. For instance, a recent academic article published in Scientist American revealed that the downside of private vehicles is restricted to air pollution. Thus, this is a clear indication of transport legislation.

In conclusion, although there are some arguments about a road network, I hold the view that the benefits of road improvements certainly predominate its drawbacks. Not to mention that the role of government and society in addressing public awareness should not be disregarded.