As cities expanding, some people claim governments should look forward creating better networks of public transportation available for everyone rather than building more roads for vehicle owning population. What’s your opinion? Give some examples or experience to support.

The drastic rise in population have put tremendous pressure on cities to expand. As a result, more infrastructure such as roads are required to be built but there is division among people as some claim that roads should be improved to create an improved network roads for public transport rather than for personal cars.This essay will discuss how this notion in true.

To begin with, increase in use of public transport will result in less traffic on roads. As one big bus can accommodate several persons it will lead to less number of vehicles on road and avoiding congestion in the city. For example, a metro bus can accommodate 66 people which means that around 30 to 40 vehicles are reduced on roads. Thus public transport having access to several parts of the city will result in decrease in personal cars.

Secondly, improving public transportation will affect a large population. As many people are not able to afford their personal car or its fuel on daily basis, better public transport will be helpful for such people. For instance, according to a survey in Pakistan, people who use public transport are able to save more as compared to people using their cars. Therefore, governments should focus to improve public transportation system in their countries.

In conclusion, use of public transport will reduce traffic on road and people will be able to save money. In my opinion, with the mentioned advantages of a better public transport system, it is pertinent for governments to concentrate in regular improvement of it.