Communication has changed significantly in the last 10 yers. Disucss pros and cons
impacts.
Information Technology has not only brought the world closer together. Therefore, we can not only share
information quickly and efficiently, but we can also bring down barriers of linguistic and geographic
boundaries. The world has developed into a global village due to the help of information technology
allowing to shares ideas and information with each other. Communication has also become cheaper,
quicker, and more efficient. We can now communicate with anyone around the globe by simply text
messaging them or sending them an email for an almost instantaneous response. The internet has also
opened up face to face direct communication from different parts of the world thanks to the help of video
conferencing.
Bridging the cultural gap - Information technology has helped to bridge the cultural gap by helping people
from different cultures to communicate with one another, and allow for the exchange of views and ideas,
thus increasing awareness and reducing prejudice.
However, while information technology may have streamlined the business process it has also created job
redundancies, downsizing, and outsourcing. This means that a lot of lower and middle level jobs have
been done away with causing more people to become unemployed.
Privacy - Though information technology may have made communication quicker, easier and more
convenient, it has also bought along privacy issues. Due to website and email hacking, people are now
worried about their once private information becoming public knowledge.
Lack of job security - Industry experts believe that the internet has made job security a big issue as since
technology keeps on changing with each day. This means that one has to be in a constant learning mode,
if he or she wishes for their job to be secure.
Dominant culture - While information technology may have made the world a global village, it has also
contributed to one culture dominating another weaker one. For example it is now argued that US
influences how most young teenagers all over the world now act, dress and behave. Languages too have
become overshadowed, with English becoming the primary mode of communication for business and
everything else.