Companies use advertisements to influence people about thinks sometimes which they don`t need. Give your opinion about this practice?

These days there is an ongoing discussion among people about enormous influence by advertisement on social behavior. While it is possible to claim that many companies by vivacious advertisement encourage to overbuy their products, in my opinion, this is not supported by facts. In this elaboration, I will explain my point of view by analyzing two most common practice on the market.

There are several reasons why companies use top models and sports stars in their campaign. One of them is that majority of the society recognizes them and believe, which may lead to tremendously increase in trust to such company and to increased seals rate. To illustrate, the scientist at the Ohio University discovered that after advertisement made by Gillette with the cooperation of Ronaldo the number of sold products increased almost by 60%, while sales of Nivea products fall down by 50%. But this only proofs that advertisement can change the preference of the customers of the company, not the product itself.

Those people who argue for a psychological influence in radio or television commercials are also right. Many companies use hideous tricks and behavioral psychology to focus customers attention on their product. But on the other hand, there is no scientific research of that perilous problem which shows that this may lead to increased sales rate.

This essay discussed how modern vivacious commercials may impact on social preferences. While there may be unethical practices on advisement market, in my opinion, companies by such one-way communication to a customer cannot force him to buy over needs.