Do you support dangerous activities like extreme skiing? What are the reasons for that?
Recently, the phenomenon of extreme sports has sparked an ongoing controversy, which
inevitably leads to a moot question “are there reasons to support these activities?”. Whereas
it is a widely held view that sports like bungee jumping seem more deleterious rather than
constructive, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.
From the sports medicine standpoint, adventurous sports are bound up inextricably with the
youth interest, which indicates they might lead to both mental and physical health. As a wellknown example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates
the relationship between risky sports and excitement as well as an exponential increase in
the adrenalin rush. Their academic criticism was impressive. Researchers, nevertheless, paid
heed to vigorous exercise, unusual experience, and body reaction alike. Consequently, my
empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of being
life-threatening is positively correlated with not only serious injuries but also reducing
depression in risk-taking sports.
Within the realm of society, without the slightest doubt, exciting sports attribute to social
inequalities, in that it would come down to lucrative sports, the expensive equipment, and
fame and fortune for athletes. A salient example of such attribution is spectator sports, which
is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take these stressful situations for granted. Had
there been a paradigm shift earlier, scholars might have had the opportunity to pinpoint
recreational sports’ problems. Likewise, hardly had they confined their attention to the
competition, rivalry, and even challenges. Besides, this criterion is an indispensable part of
modern lifestyle. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of socioeconomic
dimensions of extreme sports.
To conclude, as for myself, as the saying goes “all’s well that ends well,” after analyzing what
elaborated above, I firmly believe that there are some reasons to support dangerous
activities. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the
further we discover.