Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products, or is it the responsibility of producers?

Recently, the phenomenon of over-packaged products has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question, "is it the responsibility of producers or consumer should avoid it?" Whereas it is a widely held view that producers should not use over-packaging for products, I will discuss controversial aspects of that throughout this essay.

From the environmental standpoint, overpackaging causes litter, which is a poison for our environment. Producers use plastic bags and wrap to pack their products, which take years to degrade. Moreover, it is often observed people threw these packings in water, which consequently eaten by sea animals. These points exemplify that over-packaging is deleterious for the environment and living beings.

In addition to the above point, over-packaging is a reason behind the increased price of products. Producers charge extra from the consumer for the packaging of their products. For example, Mc Donald packs their burgers into layers of different types of packings. They first wrap the burger in the paper, then in a box and then in a big paper bag. In the end, to cover their cost, they increase the overall price of the burger.

To recapitulate, I would emphasize the fact that producers are the one who is responsible for over packaged foods, hence they should alter their practices for a better environment and marketplace. However, with the benefit of hindsight, we conceive the more we research, the further we discover.