Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Recently the phenomenon of large shopping malls impact on small shops has sparked a heated contentious debate. Although contested by many that large shopping malls are beneficial to local communities, an orbit of people are still favouring the small local shops which are benevolent to the society. Thus this essay will elaborate the myriad benefits of large shopping malls as well as the small shops by considering both the positive and negative influence on society and discuss the plan for situation improvement.

First and foremost, the multi-story shopping malls are located in prime location of many developed cities which are a centre point of the societies. This location supports them to attracts versatile nearby population for shopping. These shopping malls are having many facilities such as air-conditioned, multi-story parking and food court which are added advantages for shoppers. For example, the recent study shows many youths and middle-class people prefer to visit large shopping malls as it provides all facilities and all necessary requirements are under one roof, although this has many disadvantages as well like long queue for billing, high food prices etc.

On the flip side, the small shops and local market are also famous due to local presence and popularity of its market and people who prefer window shopping or bargaining prefer such shops and market. This market or shops also convenient to the local people due to low proximity also they provide door-step delivery in conditional cases. For instance, Delhi local market- Lajpat Nagar is still popular among many local due to its verities of food items, latest fashion items and the reasonable range of products. Thus this market will keep running until it provides them the customer.

To recapitulate, Large shopping malls and super-market are always outweigh the small shops in terms of product sell but this small shops still have popularity and will sustain in the current market trends.