Do you think consumers should avoid purchase of over packaged products or is it the responsibility of produces to avoid extra packaging of products.

Give your views with any relevant examples of your own experience.

In modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on whether sellers should own the responsibility of reducing over packaging or should the buyers reject such products. This essay agrees that the product owners must be accountable for their actions on producing heavily packed items. This essay will firstly discuss on reasons for over packaging and then explains how it can be reduced.

The primary reason for superfluous packaging is to reduce the inconvenience to customers and increase brand marketing. For instance, a kids meal in McDonald's outlet serves a bag of chips, a fully covered burger, a can of drink with a lid and straw and finally a toy in a plastic bag. This kind of packaging clearly explains how McDonald products come with over packing. All these products will have their brand name printed on packaging and customers can easily carry their products with them. By doing so, the product owners are gaining exceptional customer satisfaction along with a power marketing.

Government should step up to reduce this heaving packaging by imposing penalties on product owners. Companies must be made aware that no such ostentatious packaging is required for any product if it is quality enough to meet customer needs. Being government is paramount, it can easily enforce organizations to reduce over packaging by bringing them under the lawsuit if found guilty. For example, a research conducted by the University of Melbourne last year found that the companies are using extra packaging as there are no regulations defined.

In conclusion, product owners and government must work hand-in-hand fashion to reduce superfluous brand packaging for their products.