Recycling our waste is a big issue today. A lot of people feel that others are not recycling enough and that the government should make it a legal requirement. In your opinion, should laws be needed to ensure that people recycle their waste?

It is argued that government should make strict laws against waste management processes in society. This essay agrees that government should take the ownership to bring all recycling operations under the law suit. This essay will firstly discuss why government make it as responsible and then discuss how it can produce good results.

Being government is a paramount, it can propose, legalize, apply and impose the law suit against the people who take waste recycling process lightly. By imposing heavy fines for such irresponsible acts, government can simply control the recycling. For instance, the University of Melbourne conducted a study in March 2018 showed that heavy penalties improved the waste management by 76%. In addition to the high fines, government can also push people to involve in fund raising social activities so the money raised can be used wisely and effectively in managing the waste.

Apart from these activities, awareness to the general public must be conspicuous. Government must ensure to educate the nation on not to squander natural resources and use them wisely by applying three core principles such as Reduce, Recycle and Reuse. This awareness can reduce the waste produce and improve the recycling management. For example, an article in The New York Times recently published that 80% of the general public are not fully aware of their dustbin coloring scheme and hence all the waste is being dumped in inappropriate dustbins and resulting difficulty in managing the crap.

To recapitulate, government has the supreme power to control the recycling process by introducing laws and increasing awareness in public.