Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

It’s a traditional approach to assess students’ performance by formal written assessments. I believe that student’s assessment should not be solely made on written assessment where practical assessment is equally significant in assessment. This essay will discuss both sides in detail and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, written assessment is a traditional and classical approach to evaluate students’ performance. As earlier, students didn’t have the internet to find out all the information related to the given topic at one place which means they had to do written assessment on basis of their own research and understanding of the topic. And students need to use their writing skills and handwriting and those were the main criteria to assess the students’ performance. For instance, PhD students still need to work on their written thesis and students evaluated and get degrees. Therefore, formal written assessment is still an effective method to assess student in some courses.

On the flip side, today, many schools and universities are focusing on more practical knowledge with more experimental assessment, so formal written assessment has become the least chosen approach to evaluate students’ performance. In technological era, inventions are coming and going on blink of eyes so schools are preparing students to accustom with this era and assessing them on experiments, project based assessment. For example, a study shows those students that do well in practical assessment rather than written assessment, they excel in academic performance. Thus, practical assessments are more effective method to assess students today than written assessment.

In conclusion, although written assessment still used in some courses, practical assessment is way more effective approach to assess students’ performance. In my opinion, a balanced approach of both written and practical assessment is a more significant way to assess students’ performance.