Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

The importance of evaluation method of accessing student's performance was always a debatable topic. Even though many people believe that this can be done by continual assessment of their assignment work and project works. On the other people are in favor of formal written examinations. I believe latter appears to be a more appropriate option. This can be analyzed by looking at both the cases with reasons and examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

Firstly, the workbook assignments submitted by students are not done by them. A study by the education department of India proved that many parents help their children in the completion of their assignments. Not only this, projects are copied from other students in order to submit them on time. Thus, it is clear that it is not a reliable method to judge students' capabilities.

Secondly, the examination that is taken in educational institutions makes students learn the concept and memorize the same what they studied in the classroom. Moreover, these exams are conducted in presence of invigilator and that restricts students to take any external help. This formal written assignment shows how much grasping power does an individual have. Therefore, formal written examinations are considered as one of the most reliable methods to test one's ability.

To conclude, looking at the discussion it is clear that advantages of written formal assessment outweigh the advantages of testing by assignments and project work. I believe that written examinations method should be implemented across the globe and it can be predicted that many countries adopt this method of assessment because of its effectiveness