Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

The importance of written examinations to evaluate student’s knowledge, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. Students are generally examined either orally or through written examinations and assignments. It can be agreed formal written examinations are the best way of assessment, but there are several drawbacks as well. This essay will discuss both positive and negative impacts of this issue and this will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous ways to explain how formal examinations are the only path to assess pupils, but the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that written examinations are free of bias and give equal opportunity to all the scholars. Moreover, it not only examines students thoroughly but also improves their ability to write fast and clear. For an illustration, research in this area reveals, eighty-five percent of Australian students think written examinations are building their writing skills. Thus, it is apparent formal evaluation is only a scientific method to evaluate students.

Nevertheless, opponents of this trend tend to believe in some case, formal examinations are very old and stereo method of knowledge evaluation. Moreover, it does not assess other factors such as creativity, reading skill and memory skills. For example, recent research from Harvard University shows, examination mixed of oral and written is the best way to check pupil’s knowledge. Therefore, it is obviously true that verbal examination should be put in place to examine them better.

In view of arguments above, one can conclude that written examinations are only scientific and bias-free methods to know students knowledge and skills, although there are few drawbacks that need to be well handled.