Do you think formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge of students?

The idea of conventional written examinations in gauging students' performance is widely debated, with many people claiming the drawbacks it offers are no match for its benefits. However, I do not entirely accept this and I will explain why in this essay.

At the outset, there is a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. But the most preponderant one lies in the fact that thanks to traditional written examinations, schools are able to measure the knowledge of their students. Not only formal examinations can assess the students properly, but it can also augment the time management and pressure handling and other skills. Needless to say, all these merits stand on students in good stead as far as measuring knowledge is concerned.

Moreover, another pivotal aspect of this argument is that students do not have to waste their time on assignments and other research, but they can occupy their time for playing and working. In addition, it is by giving students only three to four hours of written assessments that schools can save there and students time as well. For an example, when I was in school thanks to written examinations, I was able to make good money to pay my rent and school fee. Hence, it is apparent why many people are in favour of written examinations.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of formal evaluations are indeed too great to ignore.