Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

The importance of discrimination against the older employee being illegal, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. All workers should be fairly treated in any organizations and companies. It can be agreed that discrimination on the basis of a person's age winning promotions and other things should be made illegal. This essay elaborates more about this issue and this will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various ways to explain why discrimination should be made illegal, but the most conspicuous one is rooted in the fact that it can lead people to depression and suicidal attitudes. Moreover, it is not illegal to discriminate on the basis of age and sex but it is also unethical and not accepted by society. The government should introduce new laws to punish the people involved in act of discrimination. For an illustration, research in this area invariably reveals older worker who is discriminated in their workplace are more likely to get mental diseases. Therefore, it is apparent discrimination should be illegal and people should be punished for doing it.

Nevertheless, opponents of this trend tend to believe in some cases that young people should be given priority as they are more creative and energetic. Furthermore, they are not only contributing more than older workers but also lifting organization revenue. For example, recent research from Harvard University reveals, Apple is making the generous profit only because of their young and creative workforce. Thus, it is obviously true that young people should be encouraged and given more opportunity than the old worker.

In view of arguments above, one can conclude that discrimination against the older team is illegal and should be punishable as well, although young worker is more productive there should not be any discrimination in a work-place.