Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person's age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Age has been a great factor in considering one's ability to make decisions. The occurrence of discrimination are experienced by people due to their age especially in the workplace when it comes to hiring, promotions or retirement. In my point of view, employees who are unfairly treated must be protected by the government by passing out a law.

To begin with, senior workers has an equal right to be treated properly with the other employees. Age does not matter if they are able to do the job. More so, the management need to consider their reasons why they are still working even at their senior years. In the first place, a particular company would need their service and vice-versa. The relationship between the management and its workers is mutual as it would lead them to better understanding of what is the most important in terms of their job functions regardless of age.

Apart from this, the fact that old employees does not need the cost for further training because they are already knowledgeable enough about the business. They can work productively without any supervision and guidance anymore. Other self-enhancements could be invested on new hires and inexperienced employees, instead. For example, the manager is suddenly asking to accomplish the report on annual product quality index, they can immediately pinpoint the senior workers to finish the job for the reason that they already know what to do and how to do it.

Overall, there should be a law to make regarding the discrimination against old people in the workplace so that they could be protected to their rights and be treated fairly against abusive management. After all, they are still individuals like any other else who only wanted to earn a living.