Do you think the significance of English language as an international language will be lost
with globalisation or its significance will increase with globalisation?
One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the usage of English language
in almost every part of the world, thanks to globalisation. There is a widespread worry that increased
exposure of other languages and cultures will threaten the dominance of English language. In my opinion,
this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.
There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that thanks to
globalisation, the interaction between people from different languages and diverse cultural backgrounds
will inevitably increase. As English is already the most widely used language throughout the world, not only
will it help people to communicate effectively with each other, but it will also be embraced by more and
more people. Needless to say, this universal appeal of English will keep it in a preponderant position, asfar
as gaining more popularity is concerned.
Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that now English is the language of Science, Commerce, trade,
arts, history, literature, media, entertainment and what not. Unlike in the past, when the world was not
much connected without a common language and so it was next to impossible to keep abreast with the
latest happenings, nowadays English has helped mankind overcome all communication barriers. Hence, the
likelihood that English will thrive, flourish and spread rapidly is very high.
In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the apprehension that English language
will lose its value because of globalisation is ungrounded indeed.