Do you think the significance of English language as an international language will be lost with globalisation or its significance will increase with globalisation?

The role of globalisation in the proliferation of English language all over the world is widely debatable. While English as a legitimate common language for communication whether some people think that this will threatens to local languages and culture. This essay will explain why significance of English language as an internationally is impeccable. The following paragraphs will explain both, the advantages and demerit of stance taken with the pertinent aspects and examples.

To begin with, there are myriad of reasons which proponents cite for popularity of English language. One of the most preponderant reasons is that colossal upsurge in the usage of English language. English is the language of Science, Media, Arts, Commercial and Trade. To exemplify, according to survey conducted by Stanford university, around 40% is increased in English spoken peoples and they are taking advantages in business, education and trade. Therefore, it is apparent that English language embraced by the peoples in worldwide.

On contrary, there is another stratum of society who feel apprehensive and think that English will create xenophobia and animosity in the local peoples. To elaborate, according to study conducted by the university of California, non-speaking countries are less developed, and they faced communication problem are compared to English countries. Hence, not only English language is connected peoples globally but also help man kind to remove all communication barriers.

In Conclusion, English language plays a vital role to connect diverse cultural background peoples in contemporary world. In my opinion, the merits over weigh the disadvantages of importance of English language.