Does the advent of Internet change the role of teacher? To what extent do you agree?

The discussion on advancement of technology evolve teacher role is a debatable one and each side has its logical arguments. I am more incline to believe that Internet does not change the role of teacher but it is a tool to enhance the role of teacher.

On one hand critics point out that accessibility of Internet has made teacher role less important. Some young learner can acquire knowledge through online learning, and teacher will only play a small part of this process to assist their students. For instance, many long distances learning industry has boomed in this last decade. Therefore, Internet has changed teacher roles in some realm of studies.

However, in spite of argument above that internet has evolved teacher roles with online course, teacher role is still extremely crucial in help students for their learning and guiding. Firstly, many academic studies need teachers in class to further emphasis on lecture and explain all the complex ideas, which is unable to be done by Internet itself. Secondly, Internet is only a tool to help students to do further research outside the class but they are still need teacher to nurture them to understand their learning process or research assignment. Thirdly, Internet doesn’t produce a good citizen in society, but teacher can give advice and tell students what is righteous act to do in life.

Lastly, in my opinion, advent in Internet cannot change the role of teacher but to help them improve their teaching process.

In conclusion, Internet can change teacher role because students still need face-to-face explanation in class, Internet on help student research student and internet make student a citizen.