Due to cities expanding, governments should create better more public transport networks for everyone rather than build more roads for vehicle owning population. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give the reasons of your opinion.

Nowadays, increased population in urban areas has forced cities to continue to expand. Some people argue that governments should create better more public transport networks instead of building more rods for private cars. Personally, I tend to agree with this argument from social and environmental perspectives.

To start with, building better public transport networks, such as increasing the number of runs for buses or trains, can easily achieve the goal of relieving the traffic congestion during rush hour, which building more roads cannot. This is especially true when we consider the fact that a huge amount of money building roads cost. Other measures including adding new stands in population intensive districts and planning better connect between different means of transportation could also make citizens’ life more convenience.

Furthermore, it is worthwhile to mention that improving public transfer network can contribute to environmental protection. It is generally believed that using private vehicles causes much more green-house gas emission than public transports. For example, more fuels would be consumed if everyone drives cars. Therefore, developing public transportation will benefit cities in a sustainable way.

In conclusion, there are various arguments to support the idea of building a better public transport system including social reasons and environmental reasons, which I strongly agree with. According, it is suggested that governments should allocate more funds on it than building roads for private cars.