Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of differential education, i.e. splitting students into different classes

according to their academic performance.

Education has been viewed as one of the most essential elements of individual and social development. One topic now under debate is whether treating students differently according to their academic performance a good idea or not. Some people believe it is a good idea, while others are not. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of differential education in terms of both academic and mental development.

Clearly, differential education benefits both talented students and ordinary students in terms of acquiring academic knowledge. Pupils are more likely to get suitable education as the teaching speed can be adjusted in accordance with their learning ability. For example, if all students are using the same curriculum, gifted students would feel unmotivated about going to school as they would not interested in repeating what they have already known. Delivering advanced courses, such as higher mathematics which is too difficult for ordinary students, can help to motive them. Therefore, it is no doubt that differential education brings benefits to children in exploring their potential.

However, a coin has two sides. It is generally believed that treating students differently may negatively affect youngsters’ psychological development. From my own experience, I used to be sensitive to the attitude of others, especially when adults thought somebody is better than me. Class is a unit. The ability to Corporate with different kinds of people is of vital importance to individual development. Without the opportunity to do this, they could grow up emotionally immature.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed the advantages and disadvantage of differential education from the perspective of academic and psychological development. In my opinion, differential education can be encouraged in schooling for academic purpose, but the training of soft skills such team work cannot be neglected as well.