The time people devote in job leaves very little time for personal life. How widespread is the problem. What problem will this shortage of time causes.

Nowadays, the lack of personal life has become a major concern in modern society. On topic under debate is that people devoted too much in job. This essay will illustrate this social problem in terms of how widespread it is and what problem it will cause.

To start with, it is generally believed that the problem of lacking leisure time is widespread in most of the jobs. For example, teachers are required to take extra classes during the weekend due to the competitive situation between schools. Another example illustrating this point is that doctors are on call even in the middle of night in case of emergency. Therefore, this is not the only problem for certain career but for the whole society.

Obviously, the reducing personal time bring harms to individuals both physically and mentally. Lacking personal time also means lacking family time. If employees cannot share enough time with their parents or children, they would get depressed leading to other metal disorder or even physical illnesses. This is especially true when we consider the single parent family or family of young child aging below five.

In conclusion, the growth of working time has created serious problems for both individual and the society. Accordingly, some steps must be taken to reverse this trend immediately. Such measures may include establishing law regarding maximum working hours and harsh punishment for companies breaking it.