In education system, assessment through formal written examination still valid?

The attainment of the high quality education is very essential these days where there is so much competition in the market. The moot question is, either the education assessment should be done through projects,assignments or through formal written examination. I will advocate the later part and will offer reasons with examples to support my view point.

Many people believe that the assessment through assignments, projects and workbooks are beneficial. Here, it is worthy to mention that most of these assignments are completed at the home where the content can easily be copied and acquired from another sources such as magazines or internet. For example, the department of education of India investigated and revealed that the parents were helping the children in completing their assignments. Many students with the fear of late submission, copy the assignment from their colleagues. So, under these conditions the judgement of the real potential of the student remains uncovered.

The classroom exams are held in the presence of the invigilator where the chances for the cheating diminishes. They are timed based under examination conditions and helps to explore the true capacity of the student. On the other hand, the children have the fear of being scolded by their parents in case of bringing low scores. Schools and institutions help to maintain a bond between the teachers and parents with keeping them updated all the times with the progress of their children.

In the view of the above discussion, I still support the formal written examination methods and due to its productivity, it is believed that in the coming years more and more institutions will bring it into the practice.