In education system, assessment through written formal examination is valid or not.

The role of conventional written tests in gauging a student's capability is widely debated, with many academics claiming that these tests are flawed and can hardly measure one's performance accurately and comprehensively. In my opinion, this proposition merits serious consideration. One of the most conspicuous drawbacks of traditional exams is that in order to attain good grades in these stereotyped exams, students are not required to possess an indepth knowledge in a specific subject. This is because it is through a number of testtaking skills, strategies and techniques that even a mediocre student can perform as well as a prodigy. There is no doubt that the core objective of education is not to prepare learners for exams, but to instil knowledge in them in an effort to broaden their horizons. If cramming or applying certain strategies is what learners need to master to augment their scores, it is highly unlikely that high achievers will necessarily have greater potentials than their low achieving peers. Hence, this faulty testing system does not help serve the purpose of education at all. Besides, questions in these exams are often repeated and so, anyone having access to past test papers can memorise pre-prepared scripts and achieve good marks. Needless to say, the intellectual ability of students is impeded as they do not need to explore things with inquisitive attitude to learning and discovering new limits. As such, rather than focusing merely on writing, exams should entail a wide range of question types, from oral presentation and group discussion to quizzes and assignments. This will ensure a realistic assessment of one's progress. In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that formal written tests do not reflect a learner's performance aptly and precisely. What seems more efficacious and more pragmatic in this scenario is a variety of testing systems that will not require a learner to memorise answers, but demand thorough understanding of the subject matter.