In the education system, assessment through written formal examination is valid or not.

Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in a role for traditional written exams in schools to assess students’ capabilities. There is a widespread worry that written tests are an effective method to measure one’s ability. In my opinion, this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.

There are numerous arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that in order to attain the highest grade in these stereotyped exams, students do not require to improve in depth knowledge in a specific subject. Not only, will this traditional education system limit children to certain range of knowledge, but it will practice students to limit their knowledge to a question paper. Needless to say, these demerits have a far-reaching impact on the academic performance of students.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is this exam system does not encourage and support for every type of talents, for example, one who does not clever for memorizing may be much talented for mathematics. When academics are going to test one’s ability from certain questions it will not reasonable for others.

In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that drawbacks of this written exams are far-reaching indeed.