Some people believes law changes human behavior? Do you agree or disagree?
The role of laws in bringing a positive change in people's behaviour is widely debated, with many people
claiming that human behaviour is rarely affected by enforcing stringent rule-setting. However, I do not
entirely accept this and I will explain why in this essay.
There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous argument lies in the fact
that rigorous rules can engender fear among miscreants, who mostly commit crimes because of the leeway
they enjoy in breaking the law. Not only do these stringent rules make people aware that their illegal or
unlawful activities will result in severe punishment such as financial penalty, jail term or even death
sentence, but the likelihood that they will indulge in criminal activities is also bound to decline. Needless to
say, all these benefits stand people in good stead, as far as making them disciplined is concerned.
Another argument in favour of rule-setting can be seen in childhood, when a child learns to do things
following a proper order set either by their parents or by their teachers. Besides, by sticking to these rules
and regulations, children not only learn essential attributes like discipline and punctuality, but also excel in
academic studies. Hence, it is apparent why many believe that human behaviour is immensely shaped by
law and order.
In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of strict rules in shaping
human behaviour is instrumental indeed.