In an educational system, assessment through formal written examination still valid?

The substantial influence of written examination has sparked a controversy among the public around the globe in recent years. While specifically argument claim that written assessment is a good idea to evaluate students, a group of luminaries dispute otherwise and hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined highly to accept that written evaluation might not be a good idea. The agenda of this article is to elaborate the importance of formal examination, which clarifies how it impacts students and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why formal written test, is not supported. The most notable one lies in the fact that the outcomes depend on various factors such as atmosphere, stress level, and health conditions. For instance, a recently undertaken study in Adelaide university has shown that 70% of pupils failed in other written examinations due to weather condition as well as high-stress level. Overal, it is evident that evaluation in written form could result in unreliable outcome regarding student's real strengths.

Another critical justification for upholding this notion is that students are less likely to finish their tests within a limited time. From my own experience, when I was in university I never could complete my exams in limited time-frame. Therefore, the importance of being tested in written format and its impacts on students should be taken into account surely.

To recapitulate, after pondering over a lot of thoughts and deliberations with myself regarding written evaluation, I believe that such as idea could lead to an unreliable assessment of students.