Extreme sports like skiing, rafting, diving should be banned. Agree or disagree?

Everyone has the right to choose their own hobbies, but there are hobbies more dangerous than others. This raises a questions of whether or not the practice of extreme sports should be prohibited. People who play those dangerous sports are undoubtedly in favour of them, while others deem them too life-threatening to be practiced freely without any regulations. Both of those views should be carefully dissected.

On the one hand, extreme sport advocates argue that those sports help them relieve stress in their everyday life and amplify their sense of accomplishment and confidence. Take bungee jumping for example. People who have made jumps all convey that it is very refreshing and wash away their worries completely. Additionally, it also allows them to exhibit their individualism as not many people dare play these sports so it is a sign of great courage. Playing extreme sports is just as much a hobby as reading books or listening to music, and therefore, no one has the right to inhibit them from enjoying it.

On the other hand, opponents rebut that extreme sports are too risky and can cost people lives. There have been reports of people seriously injured when skiing or skydiving. Hence, there should be laws passed to limit the number of people who choose to practice them. Laws that forbid them are the same as laws that forbid the use of guns or fireworks, which are there to ensure people’s safety.

In conclusion, while it may be difficult to legislate laws to ban the practice of extreme sports, it does not mean that people should continue doing it without great cautions. It is in everyone’s best interest to be mindful of the threats these sports pose, no matter how wonderful it makes people feel.