Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging of products? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

We have seen a transformation in the packaging of products in the last few decades. Instead of using a single layer of wrappers, companies decide to make use of multiple layers of packaging. This decision is not only unbeneficial for customers but also wastes resources and puts a strain on the environment; thus, manufacturers should be liable for the reduction of over-packaging.

It is justifiable for companies to over-packaged products the way they do. After all, pretty and careful packaging is pivotal and conducive to effective marketing strategies of their products. Nevertheless, it poses as a disadvantage for consumers financially because it significantly and unnecessarily inflates the products’ prices. Ultimately, the goal of the consumers is still to find good products with reasonable prices. As an example, instead of packaging the burgers in a single wrapper, KFC puts our wrapped burgers in a box and puts the box inside a large paper bag. These extra layers are there because a box within a bag is more appealing than just a rumpled piece of paper. Whether this fact is conspicuous to the customers or not, it undoubtedly shoots up the prices of the burgers by at least a few dollars.

Another complication over-packaging causes is the environmental damage. If not done thoroughly, the decomposition of these wrappers increases carbon dioxide emission, which adversely affects the earth’s ecosystem and, inevitably, our survival. Therefore, I subscribe to the view that companies should make minimal use of packaging. Hence, in my opinion, it is, in some sense, more the responsibility of the manufacturers than the consumers.

It is imperative that manufacturer curtail their use of packages. On the other hand, as purchasers, we should also refrain from using over-packaged products in protection of our rights as well as the environment we live in.