In recent years, people make the choice to buy food from local food producers. It is often said that it would foster the national economy and be better for the environment. While there still have some drawbacks, I would argue that this is outweighed by enormous advantages.

There are two main reasons why some people do not choose locally grown food. First, local products are limited in certain types of food due to small scale agriculture, so that they must travel to other places to buy others. Second, everything in the farms is made by manual labour than mechanical engineers. Moreover, the transportation and distribution cost might be higher than in the large agricultural business. Therefore, farmers are likely to charge consumers higher prices.

In spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that people ate food from local farmers will contribute to the development of the economy and environment preservation. The more locally-grown food has been used, the more jobs have been created for the locals. Your choice will help millions of farmers improving their quality of life. When it comes to the environment, due to small scale farms, farmers would use fewer pesticides that result in a reduction in land pollution. For the high-quality demand of buyers, they use organic fertilisers utilising the source from livestock, waste both agricultural and waste produced in farms such as leaves and branches. You can see many locally grown products such as fruits, vegetables attached name “preservative-free” as well.

In conclusion, it seems to me that we gain more than lose from enhancing consumption more and more food produced from local farmers.