Function of a university

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among the people on the subjects to be taught in universities. While some people argue that universities should teach subjects which is required in the job market, and some of the people argue that universities should teach subjects which they have interest in. On my point of view, universities should cater both the requirements, in this essay I shall discuss on factors in strengthening my argument.

First and foremost, there are myriad of advantages in university education. For example universities have to update their syllabus according to the market trends, if not the validity of the qualification will be deteriorated. Moreover, universities should make available courses related to technical sciences because there are lucrative opportunities available in the job market. In addition, universities can promote aesthetic subjects among their students, since entertainment business is one of the best businesses in this current context.

On the other hand, some people argue that universities should teach subjects in which the students have interests in, but on my point of view it is impractical for all the countries depending on the resources available in. For instance, if students have interest in space sciences, third world countries may not have sufficient resources to cater their requirements. Consequantely, though this approch is fair there are lot of practicle issues involved in this approach.

In conclusion, it is recommended to introduce new courses to universities after carrying out market researches in the job market together with sufficient theoratical and practical knowledge. It is also believed that government bear a huge responsibility in providing higher education opportunities to the younger generation because expenditure borne on education is considered as a investment for the future.