A university is a centralized body to manage different colleges and courses under its umbrella. University plays a very important role in higher studies. Following are the functions of a university. In the following paragraphs, I will outline the different functions of a university.

To begin with, it gives affiliations to different colleges so that students can pursue their course in those colleges. It also provides financial grants to colleges to maintain a good infrastructure. It runs different type of courses and decides a common syllabus for all colleges. Another important role of a university is to conduct a centralized examination. For example, Delhi university manages all colleges in Delhi and conduct exams.

In addition, a university also gives financial help to poor students. It also provides facilities for advanced research in different fields. Students also get exposure at a global level because of the programs run by a university with its international counterparts. For example, IIMs have collaborations with some international universities to give global exposure to its students.

Overall, as discussed in the above paragraphs we can say that a university has a very important role in the field of education. I mentioned some of the functions of a university in the above essay but its functions are not limited to only these points.