The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. Agree or disagree?

Recently the phenomenon of contemporary illiteracy and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that dumping old skills is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded both positive and constructive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that acquiring new skills can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From a technological standpoint, modern inventions can provide the society with noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that computers’ operating systems, as well as our way of doing things, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the necessity of upgrading skills. Thus beneficial ramifications of both unlearning and relearning can be seen.

Within the realm of future generations, staying in touch with friends might increase the consequences of literacy. Moreover fundamental aspects of not continuously keep learning to relate to this reality that the demerits of disconnection from friends pertain to social networking illiteracy. As a tangible example, scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that the downside of present-day illiterateness is correlated negatively with the process of unlearning. Hence it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of constant expansion of skills.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of developing current skill sets far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of the rapidly changing world prove the significance of embracing reforms, but also pinpoint adaptions implications.