Learning is simply a process of acquiring Knowledge and a person without knowledge is illiterate. The statement by Alvin Toffler that The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn is absolutely right. The ability to read and write is not enough to be called literate in today's Era.This essay will discuss the compelling reason to accord with the rubric.

To begin with, the expansion of science and technology in this modern contemporary world has made people illiterate even after having an ability to read and write. unable to use technologies and lack of potentiality to unlearn the former technology and relearn the latter, considered as uneducated in today's modern contemporary era. In addition to, reading and writing cannot solve all problems and it requires that a person has a capability to tackle various situations in the society which comes with practical experience and a habit of unlearning and relearning.

Furthermore, mere having knowledge is not a gargantuan thing, applying it in a right situation is a big thing and if a person doesn't know how to use his education then he is illiterate in a society.

Finally, basically, the illiterate of the society are those who are resistant to change and to accept challenges. The illiterate of the 21st century are those who cannot change with the environment and accept challenges existing in the society either local, regional or even at global level.