The Illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about literacy. While it is possible to claim that literacy is the ability to read and write, my view is that nowadays, literacy is ability to learn easily. In this essay, I will explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the arguments.

First of all, there are several reasons why literacy is more about learning. One of them is that the key to literacy is the ability to understand the spoken words and writings. Additionally, it can be argued that people who can read and write but cannot understand the meaning of speakers or writers are illiterates. It should also be taken into account that most of the people have a basic education but they cannot understand or learn.

Those who argued for literacy as reading and writing had a different opinion and said that it will actually be true. Firstly, it is claimed that people who can read or write are able to access and study anything that they intended to. Then, there are concerns about discrimination of illiterates and people’s behaviours on learning.

Although there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my view is that literacy should be defined as the ability of learning and understanding. I would strongly suggest that schools should focus to improve learning skill of the children instead of focusing on the ability to read and write.