“The illiterates of the 21st century are not those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn”- Alvin Toffler. Explain the statement and do you agree or not?

The idea of determining one’s capability to read and write is widely debated with many academics claiming that people who cannot learn are the real illiterates. Perhaps, I also believe that the real ability of a person depends on his learnings, and not his reading and writing capabilities. This essay will elaborate my stance.

To begin with, there are various arguments in favour of this notion and the most conspicuous one is that a person’s academic skills depends on his learning ability and not just mere ability to read and write. In addition, learning is a life-long process and a person assesses himself from his past mistakes, self-analysis and experience. Hence, without gaining experience and ability to reassess himself, a person become crippled, dependent and ineffective.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that by learning throughout his life, a person gains the experience and learns from his mistakes. Moreover, this prepares him to face the real-life challenges and makes him stand out in the real world. For example, a person who puts the use of his reasoning and analytical skills in practice is more versed than a person who just the knows the theoretical aspects. Thus, learning is a never-ending process and equips a person to become effective in his life.

In the views of the arguments outlined above, the impact of the ability to read and write is prominent in a person’s life although literacy is more effective when it comes with learning and enlighten a person’s life.