The illiterates of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. Agree or Disagree?

Recently, the phenomenon of the definition of illiteracy in the contemporary world based on the ability to learn not just being able to read and write and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of having enough skills to gain information from the internet is highly beneficial, such issue is considered positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that basic educational structures can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From a technological standpoint, required skills to learn new things from websites means having literacy and it can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that merits of rapid accessing to any information, as well as educational programs and applications, are inextricably bound up. According to a study conducted by Stanford University, there is a relationship between Information Technology and specialists. Thus, beneficial ramifications of both learning by computers and exploring educational pages can be seen.

On the other hand, reading and writing as basic knowledge can increase the consequences of learning more skills such as using technological devices. Moreover, the fundamental aspects of illiteracy could relate to this reality that the demerits of low social status pertain to the lack of fundamental ability to read or write something. As an example, scientific research showed the level of knowledge of 18% of the people in the world is at the level of primary education.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I believe that being able to learn or relearn in the modern world far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of knowledgeable persons prove the significance of useful sources on the internet but also pinpoint updated information implications.