With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The importance of digital media, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has recently become more even controversial. Some people believe that with the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete and universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks while others maintain that traditional libraries and textbooks are still essential to students and staff. This essay will elaborate on how digital media contribute to education and academic research and how traditional studying are also significantly beneficial.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why digital technologies are pervasive in many counties and many people use it in everyday life but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that these technologies provide seamless ways to access information and data from mobile devices and televisions which are affordable to most people. For example, with a smartphone, you can access to scientific articles wherever you are. Moreover, it is not difficult to download a video or an ebook from the Internet without a need to go out and visit libraries. Thus, they are so advanced that people find them more convenient than libraries and textbooks.

On the other hand, some scholars believe that textbooks and libraries are the most effective way of learning and researching although it took more time than using electronic devices. Recently, a new study has suggested that students who study in libraries and reading tradition books have a better approach to learning and achieve better results in universities. Obviously, those students are more interactive with others in communities and they are more successful in life.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from my personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that it is better to keep libraries and textbooks in universities.